To download faster without limits and to support HQ Hip Hop buy a Premium Account on
Datafile through our files via VISA/Master Card. Thank you to everyone who supports us,
we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

DJ Morpheus – Phax ‘N’ Phixion: The Nu Hip Hop Underground (CD) (1998) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

1998, Various Artists , , 28.04.2015

Various - Presents Phax 'N' Phixion

The late 90s… There’s a new wind blowin’ across hip hop…. epitomized by acts such as Company Flow, Mos Def, X-ecutioners…. by labels like Rawkus… a refreshing, spontaneous, creative new underground current is on the rise…

Put together by the mighty DJ Morpheus, PHAX ‘n’ PHIXION presented a selection of 12 fresh, cutting-edge tracks, straight from the core of the new scene.

Including two specially-recorded exclusives by Ge-ology (aka Gerard Young, a rising producer also featured a.o. on the Lyricist Lounge album) and Basement Khemist (new act from the Deep South, produced by the ubiquitous DJ Spinna).

Most of the other cuts were previously out on limited runs of vinyl in the US: there’s “Clown Syndrome” by Mass Influence (from Atlanta label Elemental), “Side 2 Side” by New York MC Shabaam Sahdeeq (Rawkus), “Hip Hop” by Jigmastas (from DJ Spinna and his Beyond Real label), “Venom” by Arsonists and “5 Boros” by Non Phixion (both from NY label Serchlite). The West Coast is represented by Dilated Peoples and Red Foo & Dre’Kroon, whereas London contributes a track by Bandulu-affiliated Sons Of The Subway. There’s also a Transatlantic collaboration in the shape of Big Twan’s “One 4 The Lyricist” (New York’s Big Twan and Spinna vs. the UK’s Creators and Big Kwam).

Among all these current sounds there’s an odd one out: the amazing “Releasing Hypnotical Gases” by Organized Konfusion, a track off their lost, legendary 1989 album, which was definitely ahead of its times.

The cover art for Phax’n’Phixion is by the multi-talented Ge-ology (who has also been designing sleeves for Mos Def and others).

Just have a seat & enjoy…


01 Jigmastas – Hip Hop (prod. by DJ Spinna)
02 Non-Phixion – 5 Boros (prod. by Necro
03 Shabaam Sahdeeq – Side 2 Side (prod. by Jocko)
04 Basement Khemist – Petrified (prod. by DJ Joc Max & DJ Spinna)
05 Organized Konfusion – Releasing Hypnotical Gases (prod. by Organized Konfusion)
06 Mass Influence – Clown Syndrome (prod. by Underground Science)
07 Big Twan – One Time 4 The Lyricist (prod. by DJ Spinna)
08 Ge-ology feat. Ocean Aquanaut & Tony Bones – Tetsuo’s Revenge (prod. by Ge-ology)
09 Arsonists – Venom (prod. by Q-Unique)
10 Dilated Peoples – Work The Angles (prod. by Kutmasta Kurt & Evidence)
11 Sons Of The Subway – Ruff, Rugged & Real (prod. by Sons Of The Subway)
12 Red Foo & Dre’ Kroon – The Freshest (Revolution Remix) (prod. by Red Foo & DJ Revolution)


FLAC – Datafile

320 kbps – Uploaded

Related posts

VA – Battleaxe Warriors II (CD) (2002) (320 kbps)
The Wiseguys – The Antidote (1998) (320 kbps)
VA – Magic Hip Hop (1994) (320 kbps)
Gas Chamber & Izm Da Mad Soul – It’s Yours / Illusiv / Who Lit Dat Shit? (12″) (1998) (160 kbps)
VA – Hypnotize Minds LLC: Da Unreleased Unheard Joints (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Wu-Tang Records Presents – Wu-Chronicles (CD) (1999) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Read And Download, Comment?

comment "DJ Morpheus – Phax ‘N’ Phixion: The Nu Hip Hop Underground (CD) (1998) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *