Sylk-E. Fyne ‎– Raw Sylk (1998) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

As one of the stable of Grand Jury artists, Sylk-E. Fyne doesn’t necessarily stand out from the pack that much. Essentially, she’s the Grand Jury equivalent of Foxy Brown, only without the explicit, near-pornographic sex appeal. Musically, however, her debut album Raw Sylk is in the same vein. Working with producers Gerald Baillergeau and Victor Merritt, Sylk-E. has created a polished record that keeps one eye on the streets and one on the charts. There are hard-hitting gangsta tracks, including a duet with Too $hort, but they’re balanced by pop-oriented tracks designed for crossover airplay. As a result, Raw Sylk never quite forms its own identity, and it’s loaded with filler, but the best moments — namely singles like “Romeo & Juliet” — are very good contemporary hip-hop, helping make the album a promising debut. /

1     Keep It Real    Featuring – Too Short 4:02
2     Romeo And Juliet    Featuring – Chill    4:35
3     Grand Jury (Coming Through)     2:46
4     Material Girl     4:18
5     I Miss My Loved Ones     5:08
6     They’ll Never Be     4:04
7     I Ain’t Down With The System     4:22
8     Love No More (Look Into My Eyes)     4:49
9     Lost In The Game     4:02
10     I Make Moves     4:34
11     This Is The Way We Roll     3:55
12     Sylk-E.’s Romeo And Juliet (LA Groove)    Featuring – Chill 4:34

FLAC / MP3 320

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *