Various ‎- Music Inspired By The Film “Scratch” (2002) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

John Bush@allmusic: ”Scratch, the soundtrack to a turntablism documentary by Doug Pray, presents performances from some of the best DJs in history, all the way from Grand Wizard Theodore (“inventor” of the tweak scratch, who’s heard explaining its origins during the intro) through to Young Turks like DJ Faust and DJ Disk. In between lie over 20 years of scientific madness, much of it (overly) informed by the soundtrack’s compiler/constructor/producer, Bill Laswell, who’s acted as turntablism’s most important (or most connected) flag-waver ever since his 1996 Altered Beats compilation brought together far-flung mixers from New York’s Prince Paul to San Francisco’s DJ Q-Bert to Japan’s DJ Krush. Except for a few interview snippets throughout, Scratch focuses mostly on tracks from the very best in the business: MixMaster Mike, Q-Bert, DJ Disk, Rob Swift, and even the often overlooked Grandmixer DXT. Highlights include “Skin Cracked Canals,” a duet freakout featuring DJ Disk with guitar menace Buckethead, and “Rockit 2.002,” an all-star jam on the 1982 Herbie Hancock classic — and commercial genesis of scratching — featuring half a dozen current DJs (MixMaster Mike, Rob Swift, Q-Bert, Faust, Babu, Shortee) cutting up over the original. True to form, several tracks from Laswell-related projects are recycled here. Still, give Laswell credit for a tight, entertaining compilation: There’s no dead air here and, as difficult as it is to sustain energy for a project like this over the course of 45 minutes, he accomplishes the mission.”

1 –No Artist Prologue. Faust Scratches. Grand Wizard Theodore Speaks 0:31
2 –DJ Disk / Mix Master Mike (Live) Excerpt From Innerhythmic Album “Praxis – Warsawa” 0:44
3 –The X-Ecutioners Feat. DJ Premier Primo’s X-Ecution 3:18
4 –DJ Disk / Mix Master Mike (Live) Excerpt From Innerhythmic Album “Praxis – Warsawa” 1:04
5 –Rob Swift Re-Animator 1:25
6 –No Artist Interlude. MixMaster Mike Speaks 0:22
7 –Herbie Hancock Rockit 2.002 8:28
8 –No Artist Interlude. Cut Chemist Speaks 0:19
9 –Cat Five* Vs Snake Eyez* Turntable Transformer 3:18
10 –No Artist Interlude 0:15
11 –DJ Krush Live 0:56
12 –GrandMixer DXT* Crazy 2 Crazy 4:18
13 –No Artist Interlude. DJ Shadow Speaks 0:18
14 –Invisibl Skratch Piklz Invasion Of The Octopus People 3:11
15 –No Artist Interlude. Jazzy Jay And Afrika Bambaataa Speak 0:27
16 –Boogie Boy / Kid Delight All 4 One Featuring – Afrika Bambaataa 1:33
17 –No Artist Interlude. Afrika Bambaataa Speaks Again 0:19
18 –DJ Disk With Buckethead Skin Cracked Canals 5:06
19 –No Artist Interlude 0:20
20 –GrandMixer DXT* Cut Transmitter 3:32
21 –Eddie Def Universal Noize Maker 2:33
22 –No Artist Interlude. Faust Scratches. Qbert And MixMaster Mike Speak 0:20
23 –Rob Swift My Style 2:49

Uploaded /

MP3 320
Uploaded /

One Comment:

  1. Big thanks ☺

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *