To download faster without limits and to support HQ Hip Hop buy a Premium Account on
Datafile through our files via VISA/Master Card. Thank you to everyone who supports us,
we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

VA – Being Black: A Musical Companion Inspired By The Angel Kyodo Williams Classic (2003) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

2003, Various Artists 26.12.2015

Very interesting compilation.

In 2000, Angel Kyodo Williams wrote Being Black, a nonfiction work published by Putnam/Penguin, to introduce more Black people and people of colors to Buddhist principles by writing what Boston Globe staff writer Vanessa E. Jones called “an easily understandable explanation of Zen practice.” She sought to use Buddhism’s “profoundly anti-elitist, anti-authoritarian, and antisectarian essence to revitalize” black identity politics and practice in America, but the book was rejected by many white-owned Buddhist bookstore owners who objected to the conversational tone Williams used, categorizing it as an African-American book, rather than a Buddhist book.”The book was critically acclaimed by several mainstream reviewers and predicted to become “a classic” by American Buddhist Jack Kornfield.

In 2003, Waxploitation Records founder Jeff Antebi approached Williams’ publisher to create a musical companion to Being Black. The CD, published by Spun Records, features work by well-known hiphop artists, MCs and producers, including Blackalicious, of The Black Eyed Peas, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Jurassic 5 and King Britt, among others. The CD includes both original and existing music “inspired by” the book. Poet Ursula Rucker performs vocal interludes that are quotes of Williams taken directly from the book. A Japan-distributed import version was released shortly after the American release.


01 Rob Swift – Because There Isn’t One… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
02 Jurassic 5 – Great Expectations
03 DJ Revolution – DJ Revolution Interlude
04 Mystic – Forever And A Day
05 King Britt – Human Beings Want To Be Happy… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
06 Dilated Peoples – Pay Attention
07 DJ Rhettmatic – DJ Rhettmatic Interlude
08 DJ Revolution – Each One Of Our Spirits Suffers… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
09 DJ Jazzy Jeff – Love Of The Game (Feat.Baby Blak, Pauly Yamz)
10 King Britt – King Britt Interlude
11 Teargas & Plateglass – When We Are Ignorant… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
12 Will.I.Am – Money Featuring – Huck Fynn, Ozelem
13 DJ Spooky – All Of Us Must Learn… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
14 Blackalicious – Shallow Days
15 DJ Rhettmatic – Warrior-Spirit… (Interlude) (Feat. Ursula Rucker)
16 Rob Swift – Rob Swift Interlude
17 Bahamadia – One-4-Teen (Funky For You)


FLAC – Datafile  |  

320 kbps – Datafile  |  

Related posts

VA – Street Sounds Electro 6 (Vinyl) (1984) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Immortal Technique – Revolutionary Vol. 2 (CD) (2003) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
OST – Streets Is Watching (CD) (1998) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
VA – Les Face-A-Face: Premiere Classe Vol. 2 (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Brooklyn Academy – The Academy Awards (A Greatest Hits Collection, Vol.1: The Classics) (2003) (320 kbps)
KRS-One, Shaggy & Mad Lion / Gang Starr ‎– EY-YO! (The Reggae Virus) / Work (1998) (Promo CDS) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Read And Download, Comment?

1 comment "VA – Being Black: A Musical Companion Inspired By The Angel Kyodo Williams Classic (2003) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

  1. @rotolog read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *