To download faster without limits and to support HQ Hip Hop buy a Premium Account on
Datafile through our files via VISA/Master Card. Thank you to everyone who supports us,
we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

VA – Fat Beats Compilation, Volume One (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

2001, Various Artists 12.01.2016

Various - Fat Beats Compilation - Volume One

Fat Beats is best known as a much-respected underground hip-hop store, with franchises in New York and Los Angeles (the latter of which has a strong connection to the Beat Junkies turntablist crew). In 2001, Fat Beats branched out into releases of their own with Fat Beats Compilation, Vol. 1, a mix of newly recorded tracks and underground joints from the last several years that had never before appeared on CD. Opening and closing with turntablist cuts from the X-Ecutioners and the Beat Junkies’ DJ Babu, respectively, the comp brings to light a generally excellent selection of singles that deserve to be heard by more than just dedicated crate-diggers. Big-name veterans the RZA (as Bobby Digital), Grand Puba, and KRS-One all fit the underground-purist aesthetic quite well, but the real focus is on the lesser-knowns and new names. Bumpy Knuckles’ raw style fits his politically incorrect references to a tee on the hugely entertaining “The Lah,” which is immediately followed by “Legacy,” the terrific first single by backpacker favorites Non-Phixion. Elsewhere, Canadian MC Saukrates comes off well on the spare “Father Time”; the Juggaknots’ “Clear Blue Skies” is a full-fledged drama on the subject of interracial romance; Pacewon’s “Sunroof Top” has a brash appeal; Virginia’s Supafriendz build their highly literate “Consequences and Repercussions” on a Beethoven sample; and female MC Helixx weighs in with the trip-hoppy “My Time.” All in all, it’s a wide-ranging cross-section of hip-hop’s underground at the dawn of a new millennium, and the future looks bright indeed. With a little more publicity, Fat Beats could well take over the mantle of Rawkus’ Soundbombing series as the top name in underground hip-hop compilations (and its re-release on the larger Koch label is a step in the right direction).


01. The X-Ecutioners – Stuck In The Past
02. Bumpy Knuckles – The Lah
03. Non Phixion – Legacy
04. D&D All-Stars – Hot Shit (feat. Big Daddy Kane, Greg Nice, Guru & Sadat X)
05. Afu-Ra – Bigacts Littleacts (Remix) (feat. GZA)
06. Saukrates – Father Time
07. Kazi – Average
08. The Juggaknots – Clear Blue Skies (Remix)
09. Helixx C. Armageddon – My Time
10. RZA & Bobby Digital – It Must Be Bobby
11. Pacewon – Sunroof Top
12. Lord Have Mercy – Charge
13. Grand Puba – Up & Down
14. Supafriendz – Consequences & Repercussions
15. Street Smartz – Metal Thangz (feat. F.T., O.C. & Pharoahe Monch)
16. KRS-One – Temple Tactics
17. DJ Babu – Fat Beats


FLAC – Datafile  |  

320 kbps – Datafile  |  


Related posts

Nottz Presents DMP – The Mixtape (CD) (2001) (320 kbps)
VA – Los Grandes Rhymadores (CD) (2005) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Typical Cats – Typical Cats (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Dr. Dre – Presents… The Aftermath (CD) (1996) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Grandmaster Flash – The Grandmaster Flash Collection (2014) (4CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Various – Trip Hop And Jazz v.2 (1996) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Read And Download, Comment?

comment "VA – Fat Beats Compilation, Volume One (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *