To download faster without limits and to support HQ Hip Hop buy a Premium Account on
Datafile through our files via VISA/Master Card. Thank you to everyone who supports us,
we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

VA – Soul Jazz Records Presents Boombox: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 1979-82 (WEB) (2016) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

2016, Various Artists , , , 22.05.2016

VA - Soul Jazz Records Presents - Boombox

The knowledge at Soul Jazz dig in that pivotal era between disco proper and the emergence of Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap circa 1979-1982 for historical and heavy party purposes

Almost anyone with even a passing thang for early hip hop knows the classics, but this compilation cuts deeper into their origins, turning out some incredibly infectious, prototypical grooves that gestated in the block parties and clubs of the New York boroughs.

We can only imagine now how exciting these bits must have been to anyone in the vicinity, and likewise international onlookers, as these guys reduced the templates of ‘70s funk and disco to a doper, slower coda with a whole new style of vocals that did away with symphonic harmonies and posh studio production in favour of nimble jive and party style call-and-response chants that better reflected the sound of the the streets.

Perhaps of most interest to our sensibilities are the cuts with synths and drum machines, at best in the lean swerve of Sugar Daddy’s One More Time, in the funky AF Cop Bop by Portable Patrol, and the whacked out chord vamps in master Jay’s We Are People Too, but to be fair they’re all pretty priceless.


01. Mr Sweety G – At The Place To Be
02. Love Bug Star-Ski And The Harlem World Crew – Positive Life
03. Neil B – Body Rock
04. Super 3 – Philosophy Rappin’ Spree
05. Bramsam – Move Your Body
06. Black Bird & Kevski – On The Go
07. Count Coolout – Rhythm Rap Rock
08. Harlem World Crew – Rappers Convention
09. Willie Wood & The Willie Wood Crew – Willie Rap
10. Bon-Rock & The Rhythm Rebellion – Searching Rap
11. Sugar Daddy – One More Time
12. Spoonie Gee And The Treacherous Three – The New Rap Language
13. TJ Swan –‘And You Know That
14. Portable Patrol – Cop Bop
15. Master Jay – We Are People Too
16. Sweet G – Boogie Feelin’ Rap
17. Mistafide – Equidity Funk


FLAC – Datafile

320 kbps – Datafile

Related posts

Various – Dope On Plastic! 4 (Mixed by John Stapleton) (1997) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
VA – Phat Beats 228 EP (Vinyl) (2002) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Lil’ Keke – ABA IV (WEB) (2016) (320 kbps)
VA – Rawkus Presents: The Scratch Perverts – The Cleaner (CD) (2000) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
OST – More Music From 8 Mile (2002) (320 kbps)
VA – Scribble Jam Compilation, Vol. 2 (CD) (2004) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Read And Download, Comment?

3 comments "VA – Soul Jazz Records Presents Boombox: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 1979-82 (WEB) (2016) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

  1. @Ingo read:

    Can we get a re up of this please? Both Links are down.


  2. @dada read:


  3. @Baz read:

    Please Please Please could you reup this? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *