To download faster without limits and to support HQ Hip Hop buy a Premium Account on
Datafile through our files via VISA/Master Card. Thank you to everyone who supports us,
we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

Kurtis Blow – Kurtis Blow (1980-1998) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

1980, Kurtis Blow , , , 15.06.2016

Back in hip-hop’s old school era — roughly 1978-1982 — albums were the exception and not the rule. Hip-hop became a lot more album-minded with the rise of its second generation (Run-D.M.C., Whodini, the Fat Boys, among others) around 1983-1984, but in the beginning, many MCs recorded nothing but singles. Two exceptions were the Sugarhill Gang and Kurtis Blow, whose self-titled debut album of 1980 was among hip-hop’s first LPs and was the first rap album to come out on a major label. Thus, Kurtis Blow has serious historic value, although it is mildly uneven. Some of the tracks are superb, including “The Breaks” (a Top Five R&B smash in 1980) and “Rappin’ Blow, Part Two,” which is the second half of Blow’s 1979 debut single, “Christmas Rappin’.” And “Hard Times” is a forceful gem that finds Blow addressing social issues two years before Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five popularized sociopolitical rapping with 1982’s sobering “The Message.” Some of the other tracks, however, are decent but not remarkable. Switching from rapping to singing, Blow detours into Northern soul on the Chi-Lites-influenced ballad “All I Want in This World (Is to Find That Girl)” and arena rock on an unexpected cover of Bachman-Turner Overdrive’s “Takin’ Care of Business.” While those selections are likable and kind of interesting — how many other old school rappers attempted to sing soul, let alone arena rock? — the fact remains that rapping, not singing, is Blow’s strong point. And Mercury really screwed up by providing only the second half of “Christmas Rappin'”; that landmark single should have been heard in its entirety. But despite its flaws and shortcomings, Kurtis Blow is an important album that hip-hop historians should make a point of hearing. / Alex Henderson @ Allmusic/

01 Rappin’ Blow (Part 2)
02 The Breaks
03 Way Out West
04 Throughout Your Years
05 Hard Times
06 All I Want In This World (Is To Find That Girl)
07 Takin’ Care Of Business
08 Christmas Rappin’
09 The Breaks (Instrumental)

Uploaded / Datafile

MP3 320
Uploaded / Datafile

Ripped & Reupped by Janka-man!

Related posts

Kurtis Blow – Best Of… Rappin’ (1990) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Power Nation feat. Kurtis Blow – Calling You (CDM) (1994) (VBR)
Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – Super Rappin’ No. 2 (VLS) (1980) (320 kbps)
Kurtis Blow – The Best Of Kurtis Blow (CD) (1994) (FLAC + 320 kbps)
Kurtis Blow ‎Presents – The History Of Rap, Vol. 2: The Birth Of Rap Record (CD) (1997) (320 kbps)
Spoonie Gee And Treacherous Three ‎– The New Rap Language / Love Rap (VLS) (1980) (320 kbps)

Read And Download, Comment?

2 comments "Kurtis Blow – Kurtis Blow (1980-1998) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

  1. @DJ Rogerio Diniz read:


  2. @2psah read:

    Big up 2 Janka Man for all these great Flac versions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *