Astronautalis – Pomegranate (CD) (2008) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Posted: 04.07.2015

Astronautalis - Pomegranate

Eyeball Records is pleased to announce our newest signing: part underground back-pack hip hop artist, part folk singer, and constant raconteur, Astronautalis. The Jacksonville native is the first hip hop inspired artist to call EBR home and we, as long time fans, are proud to be releasing his next, and to date, most ambitious record. On Pomegranate, Astronatalis, AKA Andy Bothwell, has weaved rich narratives alongside musical textures which call Tom Waits, Pharrell Williams, Beck, DJ Shadow, The Decemberists, and Hunter S. Thompson to a tea party on the evening of the Apocalypse. So its not surprising that the record was helmed by John Congleton (the producer behind Explosions in the Sky, Modest Mouse, The Polyphonic Spree, The Paper Chase) and Chris Godbey (a beat producer who has since gone on to work with Timbaland). With friends like these, Florida’s lyrical genius has re-imagined the American folk tradition with all of the elements seemingly familiar and all of the compositions startlingly foreign. Of the artist, All Music writes: If Beck were a decade or so younger and had grown up more heavily immersed in hip-hop, his debut album likely would have sounded much like Astronautalis.

Pomegranate plays out like a collection of short stories, each song as varied in style and sound as they are in subject and character. One moment Astronautalis plays a sweet talking con-man seducing you out of house and home on the dark piano driven, The Wondersmith and his Sons; next he is a crossing the Delaware with George Washington himself in The Trouble Hunterss, an epic fight song that somehow seems to channel the story telling spirits of Bruce Springsteen and Against Me! over funk drums and Miami sub bass. Each song spins a unique tale of love in the face of obligation and obstacle, told through the eyes of white-collar criminals, haggard opium runners, beleaguered farmers, and noble alpine mountaineers. With such a scope of subjects spanning over the colorful cadre of characters, it seems as if Astronautalis must have lived a thousand lives in his 26 years.

Astronautalis is perhaps best known for the awe-inspiring freestyle abilities he displays during his live performances. He effortlessly builds flowing, cohesive stories from unrelated words thrown out by audience members. After having spent 6 years on the battle circuit, Astronautalis has been working to find new ways to have the typically uninspired medium of freestyle resonate with new clarity and inspiration.


01. The Wondersmith and His Sons
02. 17 Summers (Feat. Sarah Jaffe)
03. Secrets of the Undersea Bell
04. My Old Man’s Badge
05. Two Years Before the Mast
06. Mr. Blessington’s Imperialist Plot
07. An Episode of Sparrows
08. The Case of William Smith
09. The Trouble Hunters
10. Avalanche Patrol
11. The Most Important Track on the Album
12. The Story of My Life (Feat. P.O.S.)


FLAC – Datafile

320 kbps – Uploaded

comment "Astronautalis – Pomegranate (CD) (2008) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *