Michel’le – Michel’le (1989) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Posted: 02.02.2016

Jose F. Promis@allmusic: ”Michel’le, the girl with the squeaky speaking voice and thunderous singing voice, stormed onto the music scene in 1989-1990 with her smash self-titled debut. The album is post-new jill swing, incorporating a mix of hip-hop, dance, and R&B well before Mary J. Blige and Faith Evans perfected the genre. Michel’le produced several huge hits, including the unstoppable (and irresistibly clever) “No More Lies,” which became a Top Ten pop hit; its follow-up, “Nicety”; and the R&B/dance hit “Keep Watchin’.” The real gems on this set, however, are the slow jams. The smoldering “Something in My Heart” became a hit well over a year after the album’s release, and other tracks such as “Silly Love Song,” “Close to Me,” and “If?” are just as good. Unfortunately, it took Michel’le nearly a decade to deliver the follow-up, 1998’s Hung Jury, which completely paled in comparison to its predecessor, although she was a featured vocalist on tha Dogg Pound’s 1996 hit “Let’s Play House.” So, as it goes, powerhouse chanteuse Michel’le, who played a large part in spearheading a musical movement for which she is entirely uncredited, will be remembered for this sole, wonderful album. A true classic, and a must for fans of hip-hop and timeless R&B.”

1 No More Lies 3:49
2 Nicety 3:26
3 If? 5:23
4 Keep Watchin 4:24
5 Something In My Heart 5:40
6 100% Woman 3:50
7 Silly Love Song 5:29
8 Never Been In Love 3:41
9 Close To Me 5:39
10 Special Thanks 2:33
11 If? (Reprise) 1:34

FLAC / MP3 320

comment "Michel’le – Michel’le (1989) (CD) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *